Skip to content

Zillions and Zillions of Zucchini revisited

August 13, 2009
Double Dark Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Double Dark Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Did you know that August 8th was national “leave zucchini on your neighbor’s porch day?” I have found out why that is this year.  About this time, last year, I wrote an article on zillions and zillions of zucchini. I thought I knew a lot about this prolific plant, oh, but I didn’t. No no no. This is the saga of Dana and her zucchini crop.

I have decided that everything about zucchini is enthusiastic.

It all started with a little package of seeds. The package was from territorial seed company and it said something like, “packaged for use in 2009.” Okay dokay, I can do that.  So, here is me, all excited about FINALLY being able to grow zucchini on our property up river, away from all the salty beach air, which zucchini do not like.  So I planted all those lustrous “black beauty” zucchini seeds, in a fit of enthusiasm. And they all came up, in a fit of enthusiasm. And they have all flourished, in a fit of enthusiasm. And they are all growing tons of zucchini, in a fit of enthusiasm

Luckily, I had a sense of foreboding about all this when the zucchini plants were still small and dug up half of them and gave them away to the community garden and friends. Yet! That still leaves me with about 10 plants. Yes, I know, 10 plants! So needless to say, I have been pimping zucchini to all my friends and cooking with it in EVERYTHING, enthusiastically!

“Hey want a zucchini?” “Want breakfast? Oh, here is some lovely zucchini.” “Oh are you hungry? Good, let’s make zucchini.”  “Want some dessert?” You got it, zucchini! I have been trying them in zucchini pancakes, stir fries, sautéed a millions ways and in the ever reliable zucchini bread. In a fit of enthusiasm, I think I found the crowning jewel of zucchini breads, “Double Dark Chocolate Zucchini Bread.”

I have made probably 10 loaves of this in the last week and only 2 of them have made it into the freezer. We have enthusiastically eaten and not so enthusiastically given them away! It is moist, chocolatey and the perfect crumb. I think I’m off to enthusiastically make more later today as well, since they freeze so well and taste oh so good! It doubles well too. This recipe can be easily made into zucchini cake by just switching the style of pan you bake it in, then frost with chocolate ganche. (There goes all those calories saved!)

Please send me your favorite zucchini recipe! I will enthusiastically try it!

Want some zucchini?

Want some zucchini?

Double Dark Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Adapted from Cooking Light

½ cup of sugar

¾ cup of brown sugar

½ cup of fat free cream cheese

1/3 cup of a vegetable oil

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla

2 ½ cups of white whole wheat flour or

WW pastry flour

½ cup of unsweetened dark cocoa

(can substitute Dutch processed cocoa)

2 teaspoons of baking powder

½ teaspoon of baking soda

½ teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

¾ cup of fat free buttermilk

2 cups of grated zucchini

1 cup of dark chocolate chips

(or semi-sweet)

½ cup of chopped nuts (walnuts are good)

Glaze

½ cup of chocolate chips, melted in a double boiler.

Heat up the oven to 350 degrees. Get out two bread loaf pans, and lightly oil.  (I like to use glass ones cause they don’t change the flavor.) Enthusiastically cream together sugars and cream cheese with a mixer. Add in the oil and mix till more creamy, then add the eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla, till well blended.

In a medium bowl, add all the dry ingredients, flour through the cinnamon, and whisk enthusiastically together till it looks perfect. With the blender on, add the flour mixture, then buttermilk alternatively, beginning and ending with the flour blend, till all is just mixed in. With the mixer on low, and add the zucchini, chocolate chips and nuts and stir till just mixed in. Don’t over due it! The mix will be quite watery, due to all that wonderfully enthusiastic zucchini. Don’t worry, it bakes up great!

Pour equally into the bread pans and bake for about an hour, till the house if filled with that magical chocolate smell and a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for about 20-25 minutes in the pan, then turn out on a cooling rack to finish cooling. Glaze with a ½ cup of melted chocolate chips and enthusiastically enjoy!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 11:50 pm

    I love your enthusiasm! :) That cake looks terrific! I don’t usually get excited about zucchini in baked goods, but this would be delicious, I’m sure.

  2. August 14, 2009 7:44 pm

    Oh my goodness! It would be so good with the Dolfin! I am addicted to my dolfin dark shavings. Have I shown them to you yet?
    Now I have to get some Zucchini. Farmers market, here I come!
    Love,
    Olga

  3. Karen permalink
    August 16, 2009 4:05 am

    Dana, grate your zucchini and freeze it in quart-sized packets, and then when you are going to make a soup or stew, just plop the zucchini in for extra liquid and nutrition. You can also make zucchini relish and zucchini pickles out of those zukes that got away from you, the big, fat, baseball bat-sized ones. They fit perfectly on a hamburger made from pastured beef. Or a chicken burger or oyster burger or portobella mushroom burger or… If they get big enough, take them to support you in deep-water aerobics. If they break apart, though, don’t blame me.

  4. sillygirl permalink
    August 16, 2009 4:54 pm

    Big zucchini – right this way! I make zucchini relish – a must for a cheese sandwich of toasted (homemade) bread, slices of good cheddar (Tillamook in my part of the country) and LOTS of leafy greens plus a good amount of the relish. It’s sort of salad in a sandwich. The recipe I use:
    Coarse-grind 10 cups zucchini, 4 cups onion, 2 green peppers, 2 red peppers and mix with 1/3 cup salt overnight in the fridge. Drain, rinse with cold water and drain. Add 1 teaspoon each turmeric, nutmeg, curry powder, celery seed, 1 tablespoon cornstarch, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, 2 1/2 cups vinegar, 4 1/2 cups sugar. Boil 20-30 minutes. Freeze or can (process 10 minutes). My recipe says “Marian Edwards Zucchini relish” because I got it from her. Enjoy!

  5. August 16, 2009 9:49 pm

    ha, i love it. I put my baked goods in the freezer, thinking that’ll keep me from eating them. I can’t tell you how many frozen cookie nuggets I have gnawed at, impatient to let them thaw. This looks so fabulous! Love how chocolatey it looks!

  6. August 17, 2009 11:25 am

    Now that is one healthy and beautiful looking zucchini bread! I LOVE the glaze!!

  7. August 18, 2009 5:09 pm

    Ach! As soon as this dumb cleanse I am on is over, I will be rolling in that recipe naked. I did lick the computer screen, but it’s not too chocolaty. Thanks for recipe and pics!

  8. August 27, 2009 8:09 pm

    I love this cookbook. It is very informative and easy for a novice cook like myself. Gives great information which encourages me to venture out and try new methods/foods. I can hear her voice as I read this. I know it will be a much used guide in my kitchen.

  9. kathers permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:23 pm

    dana dear,
    i think you’ve outdone yourself now! i’m going to make this lusciousness tonight. mmmmmm and yum yum yum (in both ours and the kalahari bushmen’s vernacular.) i, too, love how i can hear your voice as i read, and how enthusiastically we whip our eggs or blend our dry ingredients. :-) love you, kathleen

  10. kathers permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:24 pm

    dana dear,
    i think you’ve outdone yourself now! i’m going to make this lusciousness tonight. mmmmmm and yum yum yum (in both ours and the kalahari bushmen’s vernacular.) i, too, love how i can hear your voice as i read, and how enthusiastically we whip our eggs or blend our dry ingredients. :-)
    love you, kathleen

  11. September 20, 2009 10:42 pm

    Love your dark chocolate zucchini bread. You should submit it to the bread contest on my site. The winner gets a $179 Super Bread bread knife from New West Knifeworks. You can get more info here:

    http://www.phamfatale.com/id_516/title_Pham-Fatale-Bread-Contest/

    Let me know if you’re interested. All I need is a photo of your bread (for voting) and the link to your recipe.

  12. October 4, 2009 2:51 am

    Thanks for dropping by to check out my zucchini bread recipe – and even more so for telling me about this one – I will give it a try for sure!

  13. August 16, 2010 11:52 pm

    This is the first year I’ve grown zucchini and OH MY GOD! I’m making a casserole with zucchini and potatoes right now, only because I’ve run out of ways to stuff the little suckers. I made a wonderful thing with lightly sauted zucchini slices covered with parm cheese and popped under the broiler until browned. Your bread is tomorrow’s adventure. It looks delicious and will get rid of some of these zucchinis before I have to go collect the next batch!

  14. August 8, 2014 8:27 am

    Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!
    sos datenrettung http://www.sos-datenrettung.com/

    • Dana Zia permalink*
      August 9, 2014 3:33 am

      Thank you so much! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

