Skip to content

The Great Pumpkin Muffins

October 22, 2008
Whoops, who took a bite?

Whoops, who took a bite?

We all know my great obsession to cure the world of all obesity by baking a lighter muffin. There has to be a way to eat as much as I love to eat and get skinny, doesn’t there? I will continue my quest and enjoy all the tasting I have to endure, for the good of all! That brings us around to Tuesdays with Dorie. Ahhhhhh Dorie, you are a mystery to me, with the way you bake and the size you are.

This week the mission was to bake the Pumpkin Muffins on page 13, of “Baking, my home to yours,” by Dorie Greenspan. I dutifully baked the muffins and had to lighten them up. I was fairly happy with the outcome except for the texture. I would of like a muffin with more pumpkiny texture, ya know lie eating pumpkin pie in a muffin cup. So I will have experiment more with this little gem in the future. I did take the results to a women’s group that night and everyone requested the recipe, so I guess that is a gold star.

I used white whole wheat flour, from King Arthur’s flour, in them for more fiber and reduced the butter to a quarter of the amount. I replaced the missing butter with non-fat sour cream and added more pumpkin for that flavor I love so much. The batter didn’t look like it needed the buttermilk, so I left that out, but if your batter seems a bit dry, add a ¼ cup of buttermilk. The spices needed to be bumped up to replace the fat I took out. I also lowered the amount of nuts and raised the amount of raisins.  Here is the recipe.

Here are the little darlings, unfrosted

Here are the little darlings, unfrosted

The Great Lightened Pumpkin Muffins
2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour or white whole wheat
2 teaspoons of baking powder
¼ teaspoon of baking soda
¼ teaspoon of salt
1 ½ teaspoons of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of ground ginger
½ teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg
Pinch of allspice
Pinch of ground cloves
2 tablespoons of butter, melted a bit
6 tablespoons of non-fat sour cream
½ cup of sugar
¼ cup of packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 cup of pumpkin puree
2/3 cup of plump raisins, I used red flame
¼ cup of chopped walnuts

First off, center your oven racks and turn on the oven to 375 degrees. Add all the dry ingredients together in and pleasant bowl and whisk it up till well blended. Set that aside till it is needed on center stage. With a mixer, whip the butter and sour cream together then add the sugars and beat until smooth. One by one add the eggs till well incorporated, then add the fragrant vanilla. The pumpkin will want to be mixed in about here along with the raisins and the nuts. Add the dry ingredients in a nice steady stream while the mixer is going to low, only till the batter is just barely blended.

Spray your muffin tins with a little shot of cooking spray and fill almost to the top with the orange hued batter. Bake about 25 – 30 till an inserted toothpick comes out clean. When you can handle them, transfer them to a cooling rack while you eat them. By the way, I couldn’t resist frosting a few with a fat free, cardamom cream cheese frosting I had in the fridge. 

Oh and I did use heart shaped muffin pans, couldn’t find my ghost shaped ones!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 24, 2008 5:16 am

    Those are so pretty!

Leave a Reply

