Skip to content

The Most Devilish Cookies

June 8, 2009

Once in a while a good girl just has to go bad

Once in a while a good girl just has to go bad......

Once in a while a good girl just has to go bad......

This recipe had been lurking in the back of my mind, like a vampire, waiting for me to weaken. Finally the perfect opportunity presented itself for the dark one to emerge. My daughter Chelsea came home the other day and said, “Mom, let’s bake some cookies, something you have never made before. Oh, and I am going to take most of them back home, so don’t worry about get stuck eating them.”  Oh, thems was the pivotal words! This impossibly delicious cookie recipe that had been nibbling at my consciousness, seized the opportunity and rose up. I knew exactly what I had to do…. drumroll …. Make “Magic in the Middles.”

Now, I want to reassure you that I don’t think all the time about what I am going to make or write about next….just most the time.  I had seen these cookies on a blog some months earlier and was ever so haunted to make them. There is absolutely nothing good about these cookies but the taste. And, oh momma, do they taste good! Well, I take that back, they have a few other redeeming values; they are wickedly fun to make and see people’s reactions on the first bite. So do I have you hooked? Read on, you poor unsuspecting soul.

Okay this is how it went..….we baked up a batch of them. Annnnnndddd ate them all. I must admit we had help from hungry hubby and young son one (24.) They both can eat like elephants. But still, WE ATE THE WHOLE BATCH!      So daughter and I had to bake a second batch for her to take home to promised friends. Those she guarded with her very life and ran out the door with them still warm, leaving hubby and I to mindlessly drool and paw through the cupboards looking for something to soothe the desire. We didn’t find it.

So here is the damaging evidence……

IMG_0953

And here is the recipe;

Magic in the Middle Cookies

By King Arthur flour

Chocolate dough recipe

1 ½ cups of white whole wheat four

½ cup of Dutch processed cocoa powder

½ teaspoon of baking soda

½ teaspoon of sea salt

½ cup of sugar

½ cup of brown sugar

½ cup of butter, softened

¼ cup of peanut butter

(chunky or smooth up to you)

1 or 2 teaspoons of vanilla

1 large farm egg

Peanut butter filling

2/3 cup of chunky peanut butter

2/3 cup of powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and get out your tools of destruction. In a mediumish bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, soda and sea salt. In your mixing bowl, whip together the sugars, butter and peanut butter till frothy.  While the beaters are going slowly add the vanilla and the egg. Then, slowly blend in the dry mix to the wet mix till all smooth and irresistible. Okay, now for the filling, in a small bowl smoosh the powdered sugar into the peanut butter the best you can till it is well mixed.  Now for the really really fun part, roll the peanut butter mixture into smallish balls about the size of a grape, (to be called PB balls).

IMG_0940

PB Balls waiting for their coats

Scoop a walnut sized ball from the chocolate batter into your hand and make an indentation in the center with your fingers and insert one of your PB balls into the center.

IMG_0941

Then work the chocolate batter up over the PB ball and press the edges together to make the PB ball disappear.

IMG_0943

Going going

IMG_0945

Almost Gone!

Gently roll the cookie ball in your hands to smooth it out, then roll each cookie in cocoa powder or white sugar and place on your greased cookie sheet. Use the bottom of a drinking glass to gently smoosh the cookies flatter.

IMG_0947

Bake the cookies for 8 to 10 minutes until they are set and you are being wafted with the scent of chocolate. Cool on a rack and try not to eat them all so you can amaze your friends. Enjoy this little devilish delights!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 2:40 am

    Yum! How could you guys NOT have eaten the whole batch. Really, with the way these look, it was a losing battle! 🙂
    I’ve seen this recipe before, but never tried them. I’ve tried a similar one that was filled with Rolo candies, though. Fantastic!

  2. June 11, 2009 3:03 pm

    Ok, I have GOT to make these!

  3. June 12, 2009 1:20 pm

    I’m so glad you found my site because now I found you! Love what you have going on here and your outlook on food and life. Those cookies look absolutely fantastic – I know my clients and my family would love them.

  4. June 13, 2009 2:19 am

    LOL! What a delightful story, Dana! And the cookies look to-die-for. Peanut butter filling? So help me, I may have to stop typing and go make these right now. 🙂

  5. June 18, 2009 4:31 pm

    Oh these are calling my name! I’m such a sucker for anything chocolate/peanut butter. I can’t wait to make them!

  6. Karen permalink
    June 19, 2009 3:18 am

    Wicked! That’s what you are, wicked! Of course I will make these.

    The beet green recipe looks yummy as well. I have always eaten beet greens cooked like spinach or stir-fried. So good for you. My carrots are still teensy, so I envy you your big ones. Maybe next month.

  7. June 25, 2009 8:07 am

    I would have eaten them all. Alone. And then I would have prepared a second batch.

    Chocolate and peanutbutter are great together. Here in Holland we eat peanutbutter/chocolate sprinkles sandwiches.

  8. Janah permalink
    July 15, 2009 4:22 pm

    Just made them. I can’t wait for my fiancee to get home to try them….. unless they’re all gone before he gets here… which is possible..

  9. Whitney permalink
    November 12, 2009 8:31 pm

    I made them yesterday and they were delicious! Just like reese’s cups. I bet they would be good if you put reese’s cups pieces in them…

  10. J.R. permalink
    March 26, 2010 5:58 pm

    Okay, I just had to leave a comment because I *just* finished making these, and.. Good Lord. They’re amazing. Now I have to quickly pack them up into gift-like arrangements because if they’re left here at my house I’m going to end up in the hospital from overconsumption.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      March 26, 2010 8:38 pm

      Yes, they are pretty wicked, n’est pas? Glad you made them and have an excuse to get rid of them!

  11. elizabeth permalink
    January 2, 2011 9:28 pm

    Have got to try these!

    I noticed you made some changes from the original recipe on KA website, http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/magic-in-the-middles-recipe#reviews.

    You used 1/2 t , instead of 1/4 t salt and you used less filling. Was wondering if you reduced the filling because you had extra?

    Thanks for posting this recipe, sounds so good!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      January 2, 2011 10:18 pm

      Yes, I always reduce the salt and yes, there was too much filling with the original recipe. You will love them! They are so good!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Chocolaty Links : Chocolate Bytes - All About Chocolate - Delicious Chocolate Recipes

Leave a Reply

