Skip to content

Making your Bananas Foster Happy

January 28, 2010

I can’t help myself, I love bananas. Maybe it is the reminder of time spent on the islands that still lives in my essence.

I will never forget when I first moved my family to the island. The kids were young and we were staying on an exquisite estate that abounded with tropical fruit and flowers. My son soon found out that bananas really do grow on trees and they actually taste so much better fresh off the tree. He laid under that apple banana tree and ate till he popped, and let him. (He actually doesn’t like bananas that well now, so maybe that wasn’t such a good idea.)

I am in the process of a lifestyle change, other words; I am determined to lose some weight. It hasn’t been easy, especially coming right out of the Christmas season and eating everything that isn’t nailed down. Particularly SUGAR!!! I want to know who’s bright idea started this whole trend to eat ourselves silly for a whole month then let’s go off it all!!! Anyways, here I am playing right along.

I have been researching and making low calorie, lower fat treats that are easy to make, when your desperate. This Bananas Fosters is one of my latest favorites. It is easy, delicious and healthy for you.  I like that this dish is made from all natural sugars and healthy fats. If you remove the walnuts you can reduce the fat content. This will defiantly make you feel like you have had a very decadent dessert.

Hummmm, good.

Happy Bananas Foster

Adapted from Cooking Light

1/3 cup of Maple syrup

1/3 cup of dark rum

4 firm but ripe bananas, sliced diagonally

¼ cup of chopped toasted walnuts

Combine the syrup and rum in a large non stick skillet. Bring it to a slow gentle simmer over medium low heat, while stirring.  Simmer for a couple of minutes and let the fragrant liquid reduce a bit. Add the bananas and cook for about 2 minutes, carefully turn them over and cook for another minute. Sprinkle the walnuts over the lovely mixture and gently stir them in. Simmer for one more minute, then arrange the bananas on four plates and drizzle the syrup over them. Serve with low fat vanilla yogurt, frozen or not.

Nutritional data if divided into 4 servings; Calories 300, fat 4.4 grams, fiber 4 grams

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

