Skip to content

An easy Thanksgiving to be thankful for

November 21, 2011

I can only remember one thanksgiving dinner in the last 10 years that I have sat down to that I wasn’t exhausted. And that was at someone else’s house. Last year as a wearily lowered myself down to the dinner table, I vowed to change that at the next Thanksgiving, without running off to Hawaii. I mean what is the use making this beautiful dinner and not enjoying it??

After a lot of research I believe there are a few ways to produce an easy and gentle Thanksgiving. A) Plan more or B) drink more wine, or C) both of the above. (I think if I stuck more with plan A, the dinner would turn out better.) So in light of an easy dinner I shall engage plan C, more wine and more planning.

One of the difficult things that I always run into is there is never enough room in my one oven household to get everything done all at the same time. On top of that we have a vegetarian in our midst so if I do not plan right, I have to make two of every dish. One of the big culprits is the stuffing.

20121122-IMG_3230

I believe my troubles are over in that department though. I have found a handy dandy little recipe for crock pot stuffing. How ingenious! It cooks all day and adds its own lovely fragrance to the house, and doesn’t take up any space in the oven. It is also incredibly tender like out of the bird. Yippee! I’m going to make mine with veggie broth to so it is friendly to both the turkey eaters and the not.

Easy Crock pot stuffing, just like out of the bird

Easy Crockpot stuffing

12-14 cups of dried bread cubes
2 onions, diced
1 bunch of celery, cleaned and chopped
2 apples chopped
1 cup of walnuts, roughly chopped
1 cup of dried cranberries
2 cups of wild rice cooked, (optional)
2 eggs, beaten
1/3 cup of chopped fresh parsley
2 teaspoons of celery salt
2 teaspoons of dried sage, rosemary and thyme
1 teaspoon of salt and pepper
1/2 stick of butter, melted

1 cup of broth

Get out a very generous bowl, like we are talking BIG! Mix everything together in there except the butter and broth. Tuck in a 5 qt crockpot and drizzle the butter and ½ the broth over it, tossing it with a fork till well distributed. Cook on low for 7-8 hours, drizzling 2-3 tablespoons of broth over it every two hours. And voila! The stuffing is done when the turkey is, delicious, moist and not taking up room in the oven.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. pat durkin permalink
    November 22, 2011 5:25 am

    what a great idea, though i do love the stuffing i can get in the bird. Happy Thanksgiving Dana! love pat

  2. November 23, 2011 1:27 am

    Good idea. I am far from a vegetarian but I really like this idea. Thanks! I plan to share it with a couple of friends.

Leave a Reply

