Skip to content

Peanut Butter Brownies for my Magnificent Mother

March 24, 2010

Peanut butter brownies

My mother has her 75th birthday on the 25th of March. It amazes me that she is sporting that age. “Sporting that age” is exactly how she does it too. She has changed the face of the seventies to me. I used to think that you turn seventy and life is over. You start to look frail and forget things. Not able to move much, you get fat and smell like an old lady. But not my mom.  In fact, no moss grows on that rolling stone!

She is off Costa Rica for three weeks on Saturday, with her best friend from high school. They are off to see how many birds they can add to their life lists. You see, my mother is a bird watching fanatic. She is rabid about this pursuit and I love it! She has been to Australia, Antarctica, the Amazon, Alaska, Mexico and all over the States in pursuit of catching a glimpse of birds. I love her enthusiasm and passion! In fact, I am now forever changed by her passion. I see a bird that looks unusual and I drop everything and run for my bird book, that of course, mom gave me.

Mom birding in Maui

I hope she sees the elusive purple upsy downsy or whatever she wants to see in Costa Rica. In fact, I hope my mom gets whatever she wants from life because she is one of the most gracious and loving people I know.  It is an honor to be her daughter.

So on that note, Paul and I had a birthday party for her this last Saturday. It was a light event, with lovely people. They brought cards, tulips and sparkling eyes. The night was mild and the faces were happy. It was spring equinox!

Paul grilled his incomparable south pacific albacore tuna that he caught himself. (I’ll have to post that sometime) We also served his amazing smoked salmon, which I have posted on here.  Everyone ate so much of that they weren’t even hungry for the incredible tuna.  I made my mother’s favorite carrot cake which I posted here.

Since my mother love love loves peanuts and chocolate almost as much as bird watching, I made peanut butter brownies with chocolate chips, of course. They are sinful and rich and I can’t leave them alone! Which might be why I forgot entirely to put them out for the party! Here is the recipe for you in honor of my magnificent mother. Happy Birthday mom! I love you.

Magnificent  Peanut butter brownies

Adapted from Dana Treat

2 eggs

2 cups dark brown sugar, firmly packed

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted

1 cup chunky peanut butter,

2 tablespoons black strap molasses

2 tablespoons honey

2 teaspoons good vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 cup of oatmeal

1 cup of chopped peanuts, unsalted

1 cup peanut butter chips

1 cup milk chocolate chips

Get out that wonderful mixer and heat up the oven to 375 degrees. Mix the eggs, butter and brown sugar together till it is fluffy and irresistible.  Add the peanut butter and mix till very peanutty. Then add the honey, molasses and vanilla till you’re happy. Next in a separate bowl, add the flour, salt, and oatmeal, and whisk together.

With the blender on low, add the flour mix till just wet. Then toss in the nuts and peanut butter chips and mix a little more. Pour all that yumminess in a lightly oiled 9 x 13 pan and smooth it down. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top and pop in the oven for about 20 minutes till a tooth pick comes out clean.  Now for the hard part, wait till they are cool to cut, or you will have a wicked mess on your hands. Not that it is a problem, unless you want them to look nice!! Good luck not eating them all.


11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 9:46 pm

    Omg wow i may have to try making these, they look so amazingly delicious and anything with peanut butter in is always a winner hehe “)

  2. March 25, 2010 3:03 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I’m not a huge peanut butter fan, but these brownies might just turn me. 🙂 You have a great blog with some delicious looking recipes! And what a paradise you live in!!

  3. March 27, 2010 9:17 pm

    I’m honored that you used a recipe from my blog for your amazing-sounding mother. How inspiring (and gorgeous) she is. I love women with passion. Hope you are well!

  4. March 28, 2010 2:07 am

    No way! My momma’s birthday is the 26th! She’s coming up to visit me in PDX on the 9th, and I’m going to make her the best dinner ever. Yay for mothers!

  5. March 28, 2010 2:08 am

    Oh, I’m also following you on Twitter now! I finally gave in and signed up. Ah, postmodernity.

  6. March 29, 2010 7:03 am

    So sweet of you to make something special for your mom’s birthday!! I would do the same. Happy birthday to your mom!! I wish I could go to Costa Rica…even to watch birds haha.

  7. March 29, 2010 5:22 pm

    YUM! I am so excited to see that brownie recipe. When I have time, I will certainly have to try it out. I also loved the story about your mother. It was very refreshing to hear about her young, adventurous heart. Thank you!

  8. Karla permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:30 am

    Dana,
    The 28th was the aniversary of my dear mothers passing. Not to be sad she lived a long and wonderful life. Just short of her 90th birthday April 2
    2009. She would have loved the brownies. Maybe I’ll fix some of them in her honor. Thanks for the recipe.
    Where are you living now? I thought you were still in
    Oregon .
    Karla

  9. Jyotsna Basu permalink
    April 16, 2010 3:34 am

    Sounds totally amazing.Cannot wait to try them out.

  10. May 8, 2010 8:57 am

    blog focus on peanuts

  11. July 16, 2010 7:10 pm

    Oh, I just have to make these! I’m always on the lookout of recipes using whole wheat flour. These look awesome!
    Gina

Leave a comment