Skip to content

Beet pickled pink eggs

April 20, 2011

“Apart from being inexpensive, eggs are a superfood which contain large amounts of protein, amino acids, vitamins and minerals.” Nutritionist Amanda Ursell


Spring time is egg time. I didn’t know this till I owned chickens. Eggs are always available year round in the store so it is a common misunderstanding that chickens produce eggs all year round. Not true.

Chickens are creatures of light. As the sun gets lazier in the fall the chickens get lazier about laying eggs. Egg laying slows to the sluggishness of the winter sun. The chickens use this opportunity to molt last year’s feathers and grow new ones. You are lucky to get one coveted egg a day. Then as the spring calls to the sun to return, the chickens respond with abundant egg laying. It is such a welcome wonder after the long dark winter.

The yolks are a deep golden color like the sun we long for. This is caused by carotenoids, a form of vitamin A. The chicken produces this by eating lots of fresh grass, bugs and produce. Home grown eggs are loaded with beta carotene, vitamin B, A and E, and omega 3s. They also have 1/3 less cholesterol and ¼ less fat than a commercial egg.

In fact, eggs, even if they are not from the backyard, are a super food. An excellent form of protein, they contain all the essential amino acids that the human body needs.  Eggs also contain most of the minerals that the human body requires for health. In particular eggs are an excellent source of iodine, required to make the thyroid hormone, and phosphorus, required for bone health. One little note here, almost all of this nutrition is in the egg yolk.

Now egg yolks have a lot of cholesterol so for a long time they were villainized. It was considered unhealthy to eat too many. However, advice is changing on this as more research comes out. As of now, no evidence shows that eggs are in any way harmful to our health. It seems that this high cholesterol food raises our “good” cholesterol rather than the “bad”. So celebrate spring by eating this truly incredible edible food!

Eggs from truly free range chickens are the best in nutrition and flavor by a mile!  Watch out for eggs labeled “free range”. They usually are not. The chickens have but one little door to a very small yard that has no grass or bugs. Choose eggs labeled “pasture raised” to get the best eggs in all ways.

Here in this foodie community there are so many local people producing beautiful pasture raised eggs that buying commercial eggs is a shame.  Tammi Lesh from Miami Foley has delicious pasture raised eggs. She delivers or arranges a place close by to pick them up. Contact her at 503-322-2226. Ginger Salkoaski from Revolution Gardens also has lovely eggs available at Longevity Spa in Manzanita. Manzanita Deli is also carrying some pretty amazing eggs from Zweifel Farms in Tillamook. And of course, Farmers Markets are always a good place to source these eggs.

Some of my beautiful ladies

This recipe was given to me by a friend last spring.  It produces the most amazing pink eggs you have ever seen! They are not only glorious in color but pack a punch in the flavor department too. Make deviled eggs from these for the most dramatic and delicious deviled eggs ever. This recipe is easily doubled.

Beet pickled eggs, deviled

Beet pickled eggs

¼ cup of sugar

Or ¼ cup of agave

½ cup of apple cider vinegar

½ cup of water

½ teaspoon of sea salt

½ teaspoon of whole cloves

½  teaspoon of whole allspice

1 cinnamon stick

3 medium beets, trimmed and unpeeled

½ onion sliced into ¼ thick slices

6 large farm fresh eggs, hard boiled and peeled

To make the pickling mixture, get out a medium saucepan and add the first 7 ingredients to it  (Sugar through the cinnamon stick).  Bring to a gentle boil and then reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat and set aside to wait for its part in the play.

Wash the beets and trim the stems to about 1 inch above the root and cut into quarters. Place in a nice big pot and cover with water. Bring them to a boil on the stove and then lower the heat to a steady simmer for 10-15 minutes till just tender when poked by a fork. Pour the water off the beets and let cool for a few minutes.

While those are patiently waiting to cool, take out a large mouth quart jar and add the hard boiled eggs and onions to it. Tuck the beets in with the eggs and pour the pickling mixture over them all. Put on a nice tight lid and shake them gently till everything is well mixed. Place in the fridge to pickle for 24 hours, shaking every so often. These can be stored up to 2 weeks in the fridge. Make deviled eggs out of these pickled eggs for a cheery delight at Easter. Hoppy eating!

114 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 2:41 pm

    Oh my gosh these are fun! Thank you for the recipe … I know what I’ll be doing this weekend!

    🙂

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:13 am

      You will love them. Have fun with them ♥

      • April 24, 2011 11:08 pm

        I just made these yesterday again, and they are gorgeous! And taste SOOOOO good. I pickled another dozen for Easter, and will be taking some to my parents. hint: you can mince up the beets and onions very fine, and use those instead of relish for the ‘Deviled Eggs” part. More color! Thanks for this recipe so much. It’s a keeper on my list.

      • ziabaki permalink*
        April 25, 2011 4:48 pm

        I made them for Easter too and they were a huge hit! Along with the locally raised and cured ham. Oh, I am still full. I think your idea of making the beets and onions into a relish is spectacular! It would be easier to get the eggs in the jar that way too. I’m doing that next time. Thanks for a great idea. Stop by and tell me more good stuff!

  2. Rita Vanbeber permalink
    April 20, 2011 3:08 pm

    what is recipe for pickling mixture

    • April 20, 2011 7:16 pm

      I think the pickling mixture is the combination of the first 7 ingredients (sugar etc).

      • ziabaki permalink*
        April 21, 2011 3:02 am

        Yes it is. Thanks for the clarification. I changed the post to make it clearer.

  3. April 20, 2011 3:32 pm

    Beautiful! Congrats on FP!

  4. fireandair permalink
    April 20, 2011 3:45 pm

    I haven’t had deviled eggs in ages. I should make some — I love them when curry powder is mixed with the yolk and you plop a piece of date on top …

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:14 am

      That sound so good! A date on top huh? I’ll have to try it. Thank you

  5. April 20, 2011 3:49 pm

    Those look so cool! I’m glad you’re Freshly Pressed, looks like another great food blog to check out.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:17 am

      Great blog yourself! Love that pork recipe. Will have to try it.

  6. April 20, 2011 4:27 pm

    I’m totally trying this with my dad when mom leaves town next week. He loves pickled beets and deviled eggs — why hadn’t we thought of this combo on our own!?

    Thanks

    Crystal

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:17 am

      They are so fun to make! You;ll love em.

  7. beckyspringer permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:27 pm

    I love the idea of pink pickled eggs! Thank you for the recipe! P.S. Those are some healthy looking chickens!! Great post!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:18 am

      My chickens are so spoiled! They better be healthy! Thanks for stopping by.

  8. April 20, 2011 4:28 pm

    When my youngest would accompany me to this great butcher shop they always had pickled beet eggs, she would beg to get one everytime we went there. Those would be a very colorful addition to a holiday table.

    Congrats on being pressed!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:19 am

      I have never seen them in the world. How great that your butcher shop had them.

  9. April 20, 2011 4:41 pm

    Wow! These are absolutely beautiful! I’d love to serve at a dinner party! (Not that I have that many, but it’ll be an excuse to make them!!) Thanks for the recipe!!!

    Kate
    engLandofOz.wordpress.com

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:20 am

      They are so beautiful. They were fun to take pictures of.

  10. April 20, 2011 4:54 pm

    I love pasture raised eggs, my Dad used to keep hens and had such tasty eggs regularly. I will try out this recipe as well, looks amazing.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:21 am

      I hope you love it as much as I do!

  11. April 20, 2011 5:06 pm

    Very informative, and the recipe is enticing. I have never seen anything like those pink eggs!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:22 am

      I know the first time I saw them I was blown away! I hope you make them!

  12. April 20, 2011 5:20 pm

    Say this five times fast: Beet Pickled Pink Eggs. Super post. Reminds me of my late step-father he would make killer pickled eggs. Congrats on Freshly Pressed, well deserved.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:23 am

      I don’t think I could possibly say that 5 times fast. Once is enough. Thanks for the compliment!

  13. April 20, 2011 5:25 pm

    I just love your blog………It’s beautiful! Right up my alley too. What a cute idea….beet pickled eggs for Easter…….

    Love it…..out of time……

    kseifert@gmail.com

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:23 am

      Thank you so much. Enjoy Easter!

  14. April 20, 2011 5:40 pm

    My husband keeps a jar of these eggs in the fridge. I personally hate beets and refuse to eat them. But your picture looks great. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:25 am

      You should try them! They do great things like turn your tongue pink.

  15. April 20, 2011 5:54 pm

    Something else I’ll never eat, unless they tie me up and put a funnel in my mouth.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:25 am

      I’ve got a funnel and some rope.

  16. comfortable food permalink
    April 20, 2011 6:01 pm

    What a great idea. Thanks for some inspiration. : )

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:09 am

      Great blog you have there! Thanks for the visit.

  17. April 20, 2011 6:16 pm

    Gorgeous! My mom used to make these eggs. Also, some times you might see a glass jar of these on a bar. Great bar food.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:07 am

      They look so beautiful in a glass jar. I took a few picture in of them in the jar.

  18. April 20, 2011 6:22 pm

    i’m throwing a pink party for my mother to celebrate her being cancer-free. this is definitely going on the menu! thanks for the inspiration.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:06 am

      What a great idea! I am so glad that your mother is cancer free! Congrats to you and you mom. ♥

  19. April 20, 2011 6:36 pm

    Beautiful. Can’t wait to try!

  20. April 20, 2011 7:02 pm

    The color of the eggs is just divine! Can’t wait to put these charmers on my easter table. Thank you for the recipe.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:03 am

      @mixtape and Jo McGuirk Thanks for the great compliments. My head is getting big. Time to go stick it in the vise!

  21. April 20, 2011 7:08 pm

    I love Deviled Eggs- and the pink variety just looks so much more glam! This recipe is definite for my collected recipes book! Love your blog!

  22. myblogject permalink
    April 20, 2011 7:27 pm

    I love eggs and I love this post.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:01 am

      I love eggs too…. obviously!

  23. April 20, 2011 8:21 pm

    These look fab! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    http://www.modestcupboard.wordpress.com

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:01 am

      @ missberlish and metrocakegirl and modestcupboard. Thanks for the compliments! You have got to try these eggs! One of my friends said they were the best she had ever had.

  24. April 20, 2011 8:24 pm

    Beautiful photos! I will be trying this recipe for sure and will be back to your wonderful blog!

  25. missberlish permalink
    April 20, 2011 8:29 pm

    These eggs sound delicious! I will definitely have to try this recipe. Thanks!

  26. April 20, 2011 8:48 pm

    I am all over this for Easter brunch! Love your blog and I so agree about the fresh eggs. they’re easier than you think to get. Here’s a link: http://www.localharvest.org/csa/ where you can put in your zip and find a farm that sells fresh eggs near your home.

    Thanks again for this great recipe!!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:59 am

      What a great site! That is so cool! I’ll have to tell my egg producing friends about that site so they get posted on there. Thanks for the heads up.

  27. April 20, 2011 9:17 pm

    Beautiful! I definitely want to try this recipe out!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:58 am

      @ JoyceAnn and Diydilettante. Thanks so much for the compliments! I’ll be checking out your blogs!

  28. JoyceAnn permalink
    April 20, 2011 10:31 pm

    Fabulous blog – so many creative and fresh ideas – thanks for sharing you and yours with me!

  29. cristina permalink
    April 20, 2011 10:41 pm

    Very lovely I wonder …
    if will also work by boiling the eggs ,peel them and then add beet powder to the hot water and soak them for about 10 or 15 minuts. I will try that my self soon .
    Also worming the juice from caning beets and let the already boiling and peeling eggs in for few minuts.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:55 am

      I have actually tossed some hard boiled eggs in some pickled beets and it works really good! The powdered beets is a new one to me though. Great idea!

  30. April 20, 2011 10:45 pm

    They are so cool, just right for a fun easter:-) Thanks!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:53 am

      Hope you try them. They are the best!

  31. April 20, 2011 11:20 pm

    They look so fun, and delicious. Well done on being FP, I feel like a bit of an egg/chicken expert now!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:52 am

      Are you ready for some chickens now??

  32. April 21, 2011 12:31 am

    Wow, what beautiful eggs!

    I found a free range egg place that has a “chicken cam”. You can watch the chickens running about outside. http://www.ecoeggs.com.au/chookcam/

    We always had lots of chooks when I was a child. I look forward to one day having chooks of my own (when I don’t live in the city!). That way, you know you’re getting eggs from happy chickens. And they can eat all your scraps!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:52 am

      Too funny! A “chicken cam”! What will they think of next! Thanks for sharing.

  33. April 21, 2011 12:47 am

    I like hard boil eggs but pickle eggs um not to sure about that one.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:47 am

      Go on try it! They are amazing!

  34. April 21, 2011 12:58 am

    These look absolutely AMAZING. So healthful (lucky you, your own chickens-I’m very jealous!).

    I don’t eat eggs very often, however you have now inspired me to find a local farmer, buy some fresh eggs and make these with my daughter for Easter. This is our first Easter together, and while I’m sure she won’t remember this, it will be a dear memory and will make “egg”-cellent pictures 🙂

    Thanks for this beautiful post

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:47 am

      Yes, farm raised are so amazing! Go get em girl.

  35. April 21, 2011 1:04 am

    yummyy! At this point when I’m so hungry.. they look yummier!!

  36. Becky permalink
    April 21, 2011 1:08 am

    Ah these look so good and unique. (: One of my friends has three hens. She has a wedding cake business, but when there are an abundance of eggs, I am the willing recipient! It has definitely made me less than thrilled to have to buy them from the store. Homegrown just tastes SO much better, as you said!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 2:44 am

      I do love those fresh eggs! I love those chickens too. ♥

  37. April 21, 2011 2:39 am

    I haven’t had deviled eggs in ages. I should make some — I love them when curry powder is mixed with the yolk and you plop a piece of date on top …

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:10 am

      Oh that sounds yummy! Thanks for the idea.

    • Mary D permalink
      May 1, 2011 4:34 pm

      Sounds great – I put curry powder or garam masala in my egg salad, but it had never occurred to me to put some into deviled eggs. (I usually use either homemade mustard or horseradish for that!)

      Mary D.

  38. April 21, 2011 3:19 am

    Those look so cool! I’m glad you’re Freshly Pressed, looks like another great food blog to check out

  39. April 21, 2011 3:26 am

    i eat eggs almost everyday, scrambled or fried! i think i may need a change!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 21, 2011 3:28 am

      We LOVE eggs… obviously. Hope you like them.

  40. April 21, 2011 5:01 am

    VERY cool!

  41. April 21, 2011 5:37 am

    yummy test delicious recipe

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:28 am

      @ videoproduction and autocraftjapan, and hwstone thanks for the visit! Enjoy the eggs.

  42. April 21, 2011 6:11 am

    They looks so delicious.congrats on being freshly pressed.

    Thanks for sharing beautiful post.

  43. hwstone permalink
    April 21, 2011 6:13 am

    These look incredible

  44. April 21, 2011 7:40 am

    Loved your recipe. However, we don’t get good beet roots here, the only ones available come with strong smell of fertilizers! can you suggest any substitute?

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:31 am

      Oh dear, no beets! Wow, that is a pickle, so to speak. One visitor to my blog suggested beet powder, mix it with water and create the pickling mixture with that. Let me know if it works!

      • April 22, 2011 7:25 am

        Thanks..I hope it works. Miss beets…but what to do, strange place I m living in 😀

  45. April 21, 2011 9:29 am

    GOOOOSH! I MISS EATING THESE!!!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:31 am

      You miss eating them? So you have had these?

  46. April 21, 2011 10:08 am

    Eating eggs still makes you fat though, right? So I wouldn’t know about harmful to our health. My mum and dad are docs so we are careful to limit our diet to one serving of egg per week. Looks very pretty though with the beet!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:32 am

      Eating eggs does not make you fat. They have been vilianized and are a healthy fat to eat. They are very very good for you.

  47. April 21, 2011 10:59 am

    I don’t know how it will test but the picture is very Nice !

  48. April 21, 2011 11:46 am

    I used to have my own chickens when I lived in Washington State – they make great backyard pets. You can build a coop the size of a dog house for 6 of them. They like to snuggle up close at night on their perch to sleep. I mean, for those considering it…check out Murry McMurry farms online, they deliver. I had mostly bantam eggs, smaller but good, and almost orange yolks that stand up high and firm, not like the flat pale yellow yolks from unhealthy birds in commercial farms. If you check out videos on You Tube, you will never buy these eggs again!

    I am writing this recipe down – I love beets, (I roast them) and boiled eggs, so you just put two fun foods together for me! Never would have imagined this combination.

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:36 am

      You will love these! I find them irresistible! Chickens are amazing aren’t they? I started with 6 but am up to 10 now of 5 different breeds. Murry McMurry farms is a wonderful resource! The only problem is that they only ship in batches of 25 so if you only want a few chickens you need to split the batch with someone. I recommend your local feed store where they carry baby chicks till around the end of May.

  49. frontiermanzach permalink
    April 21, 2011 12:22 pm

    I am definitely going to make these. Thanks for sharing!

  50. April 21, 2011 1:38 pm

    I love beets and am always looking for new ways to use them. Thanks! I will of course have to eat the pickled beets, too!

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:39 am

      With a name like pink under belly I bet you will love pink eggs! I love the beets too! Love love love love beets.

  51. April 21, 2011 3:22 pm

    Those are gorgeous! I’ll have to save that recipe for a summer party I’m planning ❤

    • ziabaki permalink*
      April 22, 2011 4:41 am

      They would be lovely on the summer table. Enjoy!

  52. April 22, 2011 8:21 am

    Very lovely I wonder …
    if will also work by boiling the eggs ,peel them and then add beet powder to the hot water and soak them for about 10 or 15 minuts. I will try that my self soon .
    Also worming the juice from caning beets and let the already boiling and peeling eggs in for few minuts.

  53. April 22, 2011 1:30 pm

    i like eggs so much

  54. nesha permalink
    April 27, 2011 3:31 pm

    These eggs look so good. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed. 🙂

    http://anubianqueen.wordpress.com

  55. May 6, 2011 4:17 pm

    Darn, Dana, I missed these for Easter. Could they possibly be any prettier? I think I’ll make them for Cinco de Mayo tonight. 🙂 Your chickens are so beautiful! …Susan

  56. May 26, 2011 7:00 am

    I made them for Easter too and they were a huge hit! Along with the locally raised and cured ham. Oh, I am still full. I think your idea of making the beets and onions into a relish is spectacular! It would be easier to get the eggs in the jar that way too. I’m doing that next time. Thanks for a great idea. Stop by and tell me more good stuff!

  57. afracooking permalink
    May 11, 2012 1:33 pm

    Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I made these eggs for a pink-themed baby shower and they turned out so stunning I posted the recipe on my own blog. http://afracooking.wordpress.com/

  58. ziabaki permalink*
    April 21, 2011 2:43 am

    They are funky but sooooooo good.

Trackbacks

  1. Beet pickled pink eggs (via The Go Lightly Gourmet) « hezie76
  2. Beet pickled pink eggs (via The Go Lightly Gourmet) « Blog Archive « A Day in the Life…
  3. Araucanas and Rabbit Stew « Milkwood: permaculture in practice
  4. Pink Easter Eggs « The Body Detective
  5. Beet pickled pink eggs (via The Go Lightly Gourmet) « Gem's Blog
  6. Western Suburbs – $15 to Spend on Food and Drink - Deals2Inbox
  7. Deviled Beet-Pickled Eggs: Devilish but Not in the Way I Intended « Imperfect Happiness
  8. Celebrating spring, naturally « The Go Lightly Gourmet
  9. Beautiful Beet Pickled Eggs

Leave a comment